Logo Loading

June 15

High Rise Mystery with Sharna Jackson

Loading Events

About The Event

King William Court, Old Royal Naval College
Greenwich, London, SE10 9LS United Kingdom
June 15, 2019
11:15 am - 12:15 pm
00 Days
00 Hours
00 Mins
00 Secs

 

High Rise Mystery with Sharna Jackson, introducing London’s smartest young detective duo, for 9+

 

 

“If you think finding a body is a fun adventure, you’re 33% right…”

 

South-East London, the hottest summer on record, and there’s been a murder in the Tri high-rise. With evidence pointing uncomfortably close to home, the tower block’s two nosiest young residents, Nik, 11, and Norv, 13, turn detective, determined to leave no stone unturned – at least until the end of the summer holidays.

Perfect for fans of Robin Stevens, Siobhan Dowd’s The London Eye Mystery and Agatha Christie, Sharna Jackson’s debut detective novel introduces two funny, whip-smart, captivating young sleuths, updating a classic genre. Learn what inspired Sharna, why she wants to see more representative, inclusive children’s fiction, and hear her crime-writing masterclass tips.

 

“It isn’t only brilliant because it is the first Black British children’s detective series for 9-12s, it is brilliant because it is one of the best children’s detective mysteries I have ever read.” Teen Librarian blog

 

Sharna Jackson is the Artistic Director of Site Gallery, Sheffield and a board member of Sheffield Doc/Fest, Upswing Aerial Arts and New Writing North. She has previously worked as a creative producer with the Tate, BAFTA, The Design Museum, The Royal Collection Trust, Museum of Childhood, V&A, Science Museum, Penguin amongst others. An advocate for diverse representation across children’s media, she is a member of BAFTA’s Children’s and Learning and New Talent committees and the Children’s Media Conference advisory board. High Rise Mystery (Knights Of, £6.99), is her debut novel, the first in a mould-breaking new crime series.

 

Age: 9+

 

This event will be held in Room KW003 in King William Court, University of Greenwich, Old Royal Naval College. All attendees, adults and children, must have a valid ticket. Children under 12 must be accompanied by a fee paying adult. The session will be followed by a book signing.

 

Buy Tickets

Share: